Image of most recent winners of the MetLife Foundation Awards in Medical Research.

The MetLife Foundation Awards in Medical Research work to stimulate novel research in the field of Alzheimer’s disease.

From left: MetLife Foundation President and CEO, A. Dennis White; 2013 winner Lennart Mucke MD; Health and Science Journalist, WCBS-TV, Dr. Max Gomez; 2013 winner Yueming Li, PhD.

For 27 years, the Awards for Medical Research have recognized nearly every significant advance in Alzheimer's disease research.

In 1986, it was clear to the MetLife Foundation that the aging of America would bring a dramatic incidence of Alzheimer’s, causing untold physical, emotional, and economic suffering to patients and families and overwhelming our nation's healthcare resources.

Tackling this growing public health challenge requires new research in the field of Alzheimer’s disease. To encourage this research, MetLife Foundation established the Awards for Medical Research in Alzheimer’s Disease.

The honor roll of awardees now numbers 72 scientists – including two who have gone on to win Nobel Prizes. Tremendous progress has been made and our understanding of the disease continues to improve.

Each year, $500,000 in research grants are awarded.

The awards provide outstanding researchers with an opportunity to freely pursue new ideas. At the heart of the program is a belief in research as the road to understanding and ultimately treating a devastating disease.

The search for a cure has never been more important.

2014 Nominations OPEN

By invitation only

Deadline: Nov. 19, 2013

Nominations can be submitted by:

For more information:

Contact                    Odette van der Willik, American Federation for Aging Research at 212-703-9977 or

2014 Advisory Committee

David Holtzman, MD

Andrew B. and Gretchen P. Jones Professor and Chairman of Neurology, Professor of Developmental Biology, Associate Director of the Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center, and member of the Hope Center for Neurological Disorders. 

Washington University School of Medicine.

Karen H. Ashe, MD, PhD

Professor of Neurology

University of Minnesota Medical School

Edward H. Koo, MD

Professor of Neurosciences

University of California, San Diego

Sangram S. Sisodia, PhD

Professor of Neurosciences

University of Chicago

Rudolph E. Tanzi, PhD

Joseph P. and Rose F. Kennedy Professor of Neurology

Harvard Medical School

Director, Genetics and Aging Research Unit, MassGeneral Institute for Neurodegenerative Disease

Massachusetts General Hospital

John Trojanowski, MD, PhD

Professor of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology

University of Pennsylvania